Skip to content

Friday the 13th

13 mars, 2009

The much dreaded Friday the 13th is here once again, and for the second time this year! (Btw, did you know it can occur up to three times a year? And that in Spain the day of bad luck falls on Tuesday 13/Martes 13?) Honestly, I must say I like it. I like the fact that a lot of people get chills down their backs just by talking about Friday the 13th, while for me it’s more an unusually lucky day! Haha, for example: My taxi for school was an hour and a half late today, which I don’t see as a bad thing at all! I mean, they don’t take my attendance because I can’t help it if my taxi won’t come and I can’t get to school. Plus doing an old test to prepare for the final test next week isn’t something I really need to do at specifically at school, I can perfectly fine do it at home as well! :) Then was picked up from school 30 minutes before I was actually supposed to be (mistake made by the taxi’s, PLUS our teacher said we could leave a bit earlier). I don’t really see any downsides here, and definately not any bad luck! (Though I could’ve slept for a while longer in the morning, but hey, who needs sleep anyway?)

Friday the 13th is considered a day of bad luck, but Wikipedia actually says it may also be a day of good luck (Chew on that you superstitious people!). I was wondering why the day a Friday is on the 13th day of the month is a day of bad luck, so seem as Wikipedia is a credible source in my school, I wikipedia’ed it lol!friday-13, picture from http://www.timeanddate.com/date/friday-13.html

«In numerology, the number twelve is considered the number of completeness, as reflected in the twelve months of the year, twelve signs of the zodiac, twelve hours of the clock, twelve tribes of Israel, twelve Apostles of Jesus, twelve gods of Olympus, etc., whereas the number thirteen was considered irregular, transgressing this completeness. There is also a superstition, thought by some to derive from the Last Supper or a Norse myth, that having thirteen people seated at a table will result in the death of one of the diners.»

Also, just because I’m norwegian I’ll throw some Norse mythology in:

«There is a Norse myth about 12 gods having a dinner party at Valhalla, their heaven. In walked the uninvited 13th guest, the mischievous Loki. Once there, Loki arranged for Hoder, the blind god of darkness, to shoot Balder the Beautiful, the god of joy and gladness, with a mistletoe-tipped arrow. Balder died and the Earth got dark. The whole Earth mourned.»

Interesting, I say!

Though I don’t really believe that this day is an unlucky day, I’ve had bad things happen on a Friday the 13th. But it might as well have happened on any other day! At least this is what I think, and to me: This Friday the 13th has been especially good (thank you very much:) )!

 

Of course though, if you are superstitious I don’t want you to feel left out of this post, so here we go:

WARNING: FRIDAY THE 13TH.

All should just stay in bed today to avoid getting run over, or fall down a flight of stairs and die from getting the pen you were holding shoved up your nose! Although your house may burn down… Just be freaking careful and if you see a black cat crossing your way, TURN AROUND and spit three times over your left shoulder (or was it the right one? Oh my God I should know thiiis!!) You should not be on any ships leaving today either because they will have bad luck. Airplanes are OK though, they don’t have a 13th aisle anyway… If you have 13 letters in your name though, I suggest you change it ASAP or you will forever have the devil’s luck!!

I hope this helps you.

Anyway: How was your Friday the 13th? And what is your opinion about it/all the superstitions?

Friday the 13th sources: Wikipedia, press here. Time and date, press here. Superstitions, press here.

 

I wish you the worst best of luck, Elisabeth

3 kommentarer leave one →
  1. 13 mars, 2009 23:03

    Elisabeth! Du er så sinnsykt god til å skrive engelsk, I tell you! Forresten har jeg ingen spesielle synspunkter what so ever, så vet du det også;)

  2. 13 mars, 2009 23:03

    Så skriver du veldig bra sånn innholdsmessig også, forresten:)

    • 13 mars, 2009 23:21

      Svar til begge kommentarer hehe: Du din søte søte jente, thank you very much🙂 Nei, det har ikke jeg heller så jeg slet veldig veldig med dette innlegget HAHA😛 Men utrolig morsomt å lese om det, fant jeg ut! Mye insaane!

Legg igjen en kommentar

